At Last

At last, a new post!

At last, a book (or two) that's worth reading! Yes, I finally broke my spell and read a book that grabbed me by the collar, yanked me into it's world and kept me there for 500 pages. Boy did I need that!

Nienke left a comment on my last post that asked if I'm critical of books that I read for pleasure. Am I ever. *grin* Just ask Michelle about that thing I promised I wouldn't bring up anymore. (Actually, don't. I did promise after all 🙂 ) But here's the thing. First and foremost, I'm an editor. Not only have I trained my brain to see spelling and grammar mistakes and plotting, character and other issues when I read, I'm a huge bookworm and speedreader. I've read probably about a billion books. (ok, teeny exaggeration) And I spend all day, every day reading books specifically looking to be critical. (Think romance writers are bad? Try reading user manuals for telecommunications equipment. Yikes!)

So even when I sit down to read just to lose myself in a good story, that little editor me is sitting there screaming "misplaced modifier!" or "misused apostrophe!" I can't help it. I wish I could. I can't even shut her up when I'm writing. Worse, when I am writing, that little editor me turns into Editing Instructor who said very mean things to me in school. That's when I get "You're not even good enough to write those junky little books" (which *sigh* is a direct quote. Sorta funny when you think about what I've been doing with my life since graduation.)

So, it takes a really good writer to sweep me away and make me ignore that little editor me. I have to confess that in the past two weeks I started five books. Three romance novels, Memoirs of a Geisha, and a collection of short stories. Out of them all, I only finished one of the novels (and not Geisha). Which isn't to say that I won't finish them all, but only the one gave me what I was looking for. A complete and total world sweeping. The book? Hot Target by Suzanne Brockmann. I admit to being a total fangirl when it comes to her SEALs books.

I spoke to her in real life once, when there was that big three-day blackout across the Eastern coast of the US and most of Ontario and Quebec, she was supposed to have come to speak at my local RWA chapter, of which I was president at the time. She called to see if she should still come, and all I could think during the entire conversation was "Squeeeeee!!! I love your books!!!" I know. We've addressed the fact that I'm a geek. *grin*

 My other problem lately, is that I've taken on waaayyyy too much and when I get overwhelmed, I tend to shut down and do nothing. Which, of course, just made my to-do list even worse. So I'm baby-stepping my way through the list… all of which must be done before I can allow myself to start writing (tho it hasn't stopped me from ruminating *grin*). That's any and all day-job work (90 pages left of the three manuals I'm working on), the seven (!!!) books in my editing queue for night-job #1 and any writing for night-job #2. Oh, and the three assignments due for the HTML class I'm taking that's finally back now that the strike is over. yeesh.

Leave a Reply

