Serious, serious insomnia

I need a nap. I've been really, really crazy these past few weeks, and I honestly thought the first of May and the passing of several (completed) deadlines would finally alleviate some of the stress.

Apparently not.

The problem is, there's so much I need to be taking care of, that my brain doesn't want to shut down long enough to let me sleep. Mr. Pink woke me several nights in a row coming to bed long after I was asleep last week, and I thought that when he left for a couple of days, I'd be able to get a good night's sleep alone in my nice big bed. Only, I haven't. I'm lucky if I get four hours at a time… And I've tried everything. Meditation yoga, tv, no tv, reading, no reading, sex, to-do lists, lying quietly, staying up until I crash and nothing's working.

I have a constant lack of sleep headache and I'm just not productive or accomplishing any of the things I need to be doing. It's a horrible vicious circle that I need to get out of.

I don't want to go the way of meds, I don't do well with pills, never have, but I need to get some sleep. Any suggestions?

2 Comments »

  1. Lara, I do understand why you don’t want to do meds. But sometimes, taking just one pill, enough to get you one good night’s sleep will push your body into a sleep cycle that will be enough for you.

    Exercise does help, by the way.

  2. Deborah Said:

    Hello fellow crappy sleeper!

    Half a gravol usually takes the edge off enough for me, I only take the whole one if I haven’t drifted off in an hour.

    Good luck!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

