Dammit, dammit, dammit.

So, I went on a bit of a writing frenzy tonight. Not really sure where it came from, but I quite enjoyed what was coming out of my fingers. But I got so caught up in the moment, that when the hero found his way.. uh…inside, he wasn't wearing a raincoat. Which is so not the direction I wanted to take this story. It's a short. A really, really short. I do not want to start dealing with ramifications. But the flow was so good, that to stop while he went to find his raincoat would have completely fucked things up (pardon the pun. 🙂 )

So I'm sitting here going, shit, shit, shit and Mr. Pink looks over to find out what's wrong. We get into this big discussion of whether the hero would have something on him. And Mr. Pink's giving me all these excuses and I'm countering every single one. Finally, I get him to admit that my hero would be a total nerd if he did have something, so my characters are gonna have to suck it up and deal with the consequences.

Fortunately, after the fact, my heroine revealed that she's on the Pill, which means we're all good in the baby department, but I've read a bunch of discussions that "bareback" tends to pull a reader out of the story because of all the other potential issues…

What do you think? If you're reading erotic romance, do the h/h abolutely, positively need raincoats, or if it fits the story, is it ok to leave it out? 

4 Comments »

  1. Paige Said:

    Huh, now I’m freaking out trying to think if my guys use them or not, shit, I can’t remember. LOL.

    I think if it flows then work it in, sometimes I hate reading it though. It’s fantasy, it’s erotic, there’s nothing fancy or erotic about halting the groove to ask about babies. I HATE BABIES MENTIONED IN EROTICA.

  2. Not really, at least, not for me.

  3. Jenna Howard Said:

    Ii had my writing crew critique my first pub’d story for me. And this one woman got really mad I didn’t mention a condom EVERY time they had sex. I finally called my writing bud, Kate, frustrated because I only had 15,000 words to write this story and didn’t want to say they dressed the soldier for battle every time. My way of thinking was if I mentioned it once, that was enough.

    Clearly not. Sigh. I never know the answer to this. To me the scene is what it is.

    I’m with Paige – I’m not a fan of babies (or children) in an erotic romance.

  4. Paige Said:

    I had a discussion about this once and I think we came up with the idea that if they used it the first time, it was understood that they used it every following time.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

