Son of a…

You know that joke about the Devil and Jesus having a computer programming competition and the punchline is Jesus Saves? Yeah, well, you might want to remember to do this. Now, I've been burned before. My auto save in MS Word is set to save every 2 minutes, so at most I could only lose 1 and a bit minutes worth of work. I'm seriously anal about saving my work, just. in. case. Except, apparently, today. I don't know where my brain was. I had a pile of programs open, because I was assigned a totally bogus project that is a serious waste of my time and in a few months, I'm going to have to do it all over again, and I've already done it once. I was bitter about doing this and I was just trying to get through it. Well, damned if Adobe Acrobat went and crashed on me. I edit for the day job in PDF. Acrobat lets me draw pretty pictures over the writers' text and then they get to decide whether they want to listen to my pretty pictures or not. So, after 60 pages of pretty pictures… CRASH. The whole program shut down and wouldn't let me save the work I'd done. 

So now tomorrow, I'm going to get woken up very, very early, when tech support, which is in a much earlier time zone than I am, gets my freak out ticket and calls me when they get in. (I usually roll into work around 10 a.m. I love working at home. πŸ™‚ ). Then I have to re-do those 60 pages. Argh.
 So in this case… don't forget to Save. And then do it again. Trust me. You'll be glad you did.

3 Comments »

  1. Jenna Howard Said:

    I hate it when Adobe crashes. When it crashes it does a bang up job.

    Crossing my fingers for you.

  2. Bonnie Said:

    I have sacrificed a chicken dinner to the technology gods in your honour. (Next time, I’ll set the timer before starting the movie.) You never can be too safe. Hey, kinda goes along the same lines as your last post, doesn’t it? πŸ˜‰

  3. Lara Said:

    Thanks for the good kharma, Bonnie and Jenna!

    I’m a bit of a sneaky bitch, and I managed to trick the crashed file into letting me write down the comments I’d made, so all I had to do was figure out what they related to….

    Then I convinced the people I was doing the work for that now wasn’t the time to do the work, and to do all of the necessary rewrites by people who speak English, and then let me look at it, which will make my life much easier. πŸ™‚


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

