Random, completely unrelated thoughts.

So, I'm a geek for my stats. And I'll be honest, one of the things that bugs me about the free WordPress blog stats, is that it only tells you how many people visited your site, and if they were referred from another site. What's really wierd, is that for the past month or so, I've had a very respectable 30 – 40 visitors a day. Which, considering I haven't really been broadcasting my new name, is pretty darn cool. But then, Saturday.. a day when most people are out enjoying the sunshine and not blogsurfing, I had a whopping 128 visitors. (!!!)  I don't know where y'all came from, or if you're coming back, but I'd sure like it if you at least left a little comment to let me know who you are… 🙂

 I also realized that it's about a month-and-a-half until the August 1st deadline for the Write-Ons and the deadline I set myself to finish my entry for Ellora's Cavemen contest. So I'm thinking that July is going to be La-No-Wri-Mo. Yes, that's Lara's-Novel-Writing-Month. I know that my 10K book for EC isn't going to win me a Write-On T-Shirt, but at this point, I just want to finish something.

So, who wants to join me?  It'd be nice not to have to go this alone. And I'm hoping that if enough people tell me how well they're doing, I'll feel guilty enough to actually do it this time, not just talk about it.

And, today, I turned down a freelance gig. And I'm really, really glad I did. I've been taking on a lot of extra stuff, really, to fill my time to pretend I don't notice that Mr. Pink has been spending more and more time away from me. Worse, I can't fight his mistress. Another woman I could handle (er, by dumping his ass..). But when he spends a good 20 hours a day asleep because of morphine patches and other assorted painkillers, there's nothing I can do but worry. (and be annoyed that those four awake hours are usually in the middle of the night when I'm sleeping) But I haven't really been giving myself time for me… time to write… time to recharge and veg… hell, time to clean my darn house. And I need to do that… all of it. I just kinda wish I weren't going it alone all the time.

2 Comments »

  1. I think the stats is to bloggers what Bookscan/Amazon to writers. LOL.

  2. Mike Said:

    You should sign up for Performancing or Statcounter or Sitemeter stats. They give you quite a bit of information.

    My Writeon project is hosed, too. I don’t think I’m quite ready for writing a novel yet. I need to focus on the 5-10K range for a while. I think getting to novel length will be like marathon training for me. Start with a 5K race, then 10K, then half-marathon, and then…well I haven’t run a race further than a half-marathon yet.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

